PDA

View Full Version : New person with a question.

Darasen
2002-Jan-29, 04:22 AM
Hello All.

I am new to this board so I thought I would take a moment to say hello and ask a question.
I am a computer technician / web designer in central Florida and not an astronomer by any means. I have, however, been fascinated by astronomy and physics for some time and have read everything I have been able to access on the topics (Discover, Astronomy, Scientific America, Stephen Hawking books, web, etc..) I have also followed this board for some time and learned several things from it.
Once I could understand a post from HUb' (no offence) I decided it was safe to post.
My Question is simply; can anybody suggest a decent telescope between three and five hundred dollars? Also, Has anyone else ever been accused of being pedantic for studying this sort of thing as a pastime?

Glutomoto
2002-Jan-29, 04:40 AM
someone actually understood a post from HUb' ?

Wow !

GrapesOfWrath
2002-Jan-29, 04:41 AM
On 2002-01-28 23:22, Darasen wrote:
Also, Has anyone else ever been accused of being pedantic for studying this sort of thing as a pastime?
Star Geek was as close as I've heard.

odysseus0101
2002-Jan-29, 05:04 AM
On 2002-01-28 23:41, GrapesOfWrath wrote:

Also, Has anyone else ever been accused of being pedantic for studying this sort of thing as a pastime?
Star Geek was as close as I've heard.

I just recently got into this as a pasttime, after happening across this very website. I solve the pedantry problem by not telling my super-cool friends about it.

The Bad Astronomer
2002-Jan-29, 05:10 AM
Hi! Welcome to the BABB!

I have a page about first time 'scope buying: So, you want to buy a telescope? (http://www.badastronomy.com/bitesize/scopefaq.html). There are links there that should help.

amstrad
2002-Jan-29, 05:41 AM