PDA

View Full Version : Silly Sgr A* question

Cruithne3753
2007-Jan-06, 08:28 PM
Hello, newbie here...

Ignoring the relatavistic effects of gravity, the absurdly short life of such a star, and a few other things besides, at 3.7 million Solar masses, just how bright would the galactic core black hole be if it shone as an ordinary star instead?

grant hutchison
2007-Jan-06, 08:38 PM
Ignoring the relatavistic effects of gravity, the absurdly short life of such a star, and a few other things besides, at 3.7 million Solar masses, just how bright would the galactic core black hole be if it shone as an ordinary star instead?It wouldn't be a star. It would be a black hole. It has too much mass to be a star.

Grant Hutchison

Cruithne3753
2007-Jan-06, 08:50 PM
Yes, I know it's a black hole (relatavistic effects -> gravity preventing the escape of light)... ignoring that. I did say it was a silly question!

grant hutchison
2007-Jan-06, 09:03 PM
Yes, I know it's a black hole (relatavistic effects -> gravity preventing the escape of light)... ignoring that!Yes, you told me to ignore that.
Black holes don't require relativity: Newtonian gravity will do (in fact, the Schwarzschild radius for a black hole is the same as would be predicted from simple Newtonian gravity). Laplace predicted the effect of escape velocity exceeding that of light for a sufficiently dense object in the 1700s, long before relativity.
So the question is whether any force exists that can prevent a single object from collapsing under its own weight to the point at which the escape velocity exceeds light. For something as massive as you want, there's no such force.
A cloud of gas of the mass you suggest would blow itself apart into smaller objects before forming a single star: there's something called the Eddington limit, which sets an upper boundary on the mass of stable stars, and it kicks in around a (very) few hundred solar masses.

Grant Hutchison

Disinfo Agent
2007-Jan-06, 09:45 PM