PDA

View Full Version : Red dwarf Jupiter

RocketGator
2007-Feb-10, 04:49 AM
What if Jupiter managed to get just enough mass to begin fusion and became a red dwarf? What would it look like from Earth? Would it've messed up the formation of Earth or life on Earth?

Also, if Jupiter somehow suddenly gained the mass and ignited now, what would that do to us?

daxloves
2007-Feb-10, 05:21 AM
I am no expert but I would assume Jupiter would require allot more mass than is available to it in order to attain such mass so I don't think it could become a red dwarf. But if it did, Jupiter would appear to be a large bright star in the sky, the size depending on the amount of mass it acquired.
Judging from some of the giant gas planets we have found in other systems I think it will take a lot! But again, if it did and was of sufficent size the ignition it self would be enough to jostle some planets around and dangerously alter the orbits of many bodies in the asteroid belt between Jupiter an us.
If Jupiter was of sufficent size it's gravity would most likely effect all objects in our solar system. The sun itself would probably begin to wobble more and more as it began to be pulled by Jupiter's new massive gravity and would no longer be at the center of our solar system. So yeah, I think it would mess us up a little, if it were possible.

But like I said. I aint no expert. Don't take my word for it.

The Backroad Astronomer
2007-Feb-10, 05:22 AM
well the luminosity of a red dwarf is about 10^-2 as mauch as the sun so jupiter would be brighter but we would not effect much heat, as for messing up the formation of the Earth would not have much effect but life on Earth may different because it may of gone on a different evolutionary track without the as many asteroids hitting the Earth.

The Backroad Astronomer
2007-Feb-10, 05:45 AM
ok mass of jupiter relative to the mass of the sun=.001
mass of red dwarf to mass of sun=.08