PDA

View Full Version : Cruise Director Aldrin

odysseus0101
2002-Feb-07, 05:11 AM
I just read that Buzz Aldrin and a research team (that may include some BA readers) are developing an Earth-Mars cruise service that could be up and running as early as 2018. The article can be read here: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/0,,3-2002063480,00.html . The concept sounds very interesting, but I'm not an expert...

ToSeek
2002-Feb-07, 01:25 PM
Here's a link that works. (http://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/0,,3-2002063480,00.html)

Aldrin has been pushing the "cycle" concept between Earth and Mars for a few years now. Apparently it's possible to set up a stable scheme whereby spacecraft shuttle between the planets on a regular basis.

odysseus0101
2002-Feb-07, 04:00 PM
On 2002-02-07 08:25, ToSeek wrote:
Here's a link that works. (http://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/0,,3-2002063480,00.html)

That's a much better idea!

ToSeek
2002-Feb-07, 05:02 PM
On 2002-02-07 11:00, odysseus0101 wrote:

Anyone who puts commas in a URL should be smacked.

Kaptain K
2002-Feb-07, 05:24 PM
I found this to be very interesting;

Modified versions of the space shuttle’s external fuel tank might be used as building units for constructing the cyclers in orbit, Dr Aldrin said.
Especially since I have mentioned (on this board) using the external fuel tanks as building blocks for a REAL Space Station (as opposed to the ISS boondoggle and financial black hole).

Argos
2002-Feb-07, 05:29 PM
It is like an endless train circling the US!It is the first time someone comes up with a feasible commercial scale conveyor system between Earth and the planets. The first time someone presents a project with real economic virtues. The project will be getting cheaper and cheaper as it cycles around the solar system. By the tenth cycle it will be paid off. The question is about how long it can operate in safety. Pack your bags, folks. Mars here we come!

PS> How come I didn't think of this concept before. Darn!

Chip