PDA

View Full Version : Newbie wants a telescope!

dmp58
2003-May-29, 01:13 PM
OK, here's the deal.

I've decided that I want to get involved in astronomy in a bigger way. This means I need to purchase my first telescope. I've read and read, but all the advice seems to be so noncommittal as to what type to buy as to almost be useless. So, I'm looking for biased views on what I should get.

Letís assume a few things. I've three young children who may catch the bug too. Money is not an issue. I'm a newbie (well that's obvious), so I don't know if planet hopping or deep sky objects are my eventual interests, but I want a half decent chance viewing both with my first scope. I'm in a city, so I've got to deal with a fair bit of background light pollution.

So what do YOU suggest?

Thanks!

Glom
2003-May-29, 01:53 PM
First, what is your astronomy experience so far? Have you exhausted everything you could do with binocular and naked eye observation?

In light polluted areas, deep sky objects aren't as easy to find. You're probably better starting off with planetary observation. For that, you'll want a refractor. Without a secondary obstruction, you don't get diffraction that reduces the detail on the image.

Take it someone else...

gethen
2003-May-29, 02:02 PM
If you're in a populated area there's a good chance that there's an astonomy club nearby. If there is it's really helpful to visit, talk to other amateurs, and get a first hand idea of what type of scope you'd like.
And welcome to the BABB.

ToSeek
2003-May-29, 03:42 PM
You might take a look at the advice given in this thread. (http://www.badastronomy.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=5762)

dgruss23
2003-May-29, 04:25 PM
Another thread with some good advice is this one (http://www.badastronomy.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=4197&highlight=telescope).

Good luck!

David Hall
2003-May-30, 02:03 PM
Money is not an issue? Can you send a few scopes my way too then? :D :P

mike alexander
2003-Jul-07, 10:56 PM