PDA

View Full Version : Misguided Marketing

Fazor
2007-Mar-15, 05:08 PM
Okay this was too funny to pass up. I find it funny every time we get one of those generic "call us to get a cheaper quote on auto insurance" letters at work. Why? Because i'm an insurance agent (well, technically a licsensed salesperson for an agent). A good number of these come addressed to [Agent's Name] Insurance Agency. Seems like a waste of postage to me.

But this one today from Geico is even funnier, as the return address from which it origonated is from "Chevy Chase, Maryland". I love Chevy Chase, but does that mean that these people at Geico are comedians? Or a joke? (I think a little of both ;) ).

okay, so Chevy Chase, MD came way before the comic, but still. I thought it was funny. and actually the comic (not his birth name) was apparently (according to wikipedia) named after a town that his scottish decedants helped defend from invasion (?) which quite possibly is also what the city Chevy Chase, MD is named after. But that takes away from the fun in my post. Jay was right, it is more fun to lead a life completely unburdened by reality (or however he worded it).

Donnie B.
2007-Mar-15, 08:51 PM
I keep getting phone and mail offers for Verizon FiOS internet service. I signed up the minute it was available (it rocks, BTW), so they're wasting their advertising budget on me.

The junk mail I understand, I'm sure it's sent to "Resident". But you'd think they'd be able to cross reference to their own records and eliminate the phone spam.

Swift
2007-Mar-15, 09:52 PM