PDA

View Full Version : Saturn V upper stage

BenGun
2007-Mar-18, 11:21 AM
Hello,
I'm quite new to this but interested in explanations. Over here in the UK the Apollo hoax issue isn't as hotly contested as it appears to be in the USA. Nonetheless, it is a fascinating topic. Did we (you) really go to the moon?
I'm quite convinced, but the other day I ran into a bloke who seemed to be very much informed and was certain that we didn't. He told me about contradictions in photographs (an issue I believe has been settled long since) and doubted that the technology of the sixties was up to the reliability required for such a feat. It "sounded" plausible (my background is rather literature than technology) even if it is highly unlikely that such a hoax could be hidden for decades so I simply listened.
However, one point was very interesting. He claimed that he never got a satisfying answer to the following:

A couple of years ago, the third stage of the Staurn V was found to be circling Earth; the very third stage that sent Apollo to the moon. So how can it be that the third stage that pushed the lunar lander to the moon turned up in Earth's orbit?

According to him the best explanation is that the craft simply stayed in orbit to tape some floating astronauts (something you can't do with even the best slow-motion) and some days later returned back to earth. The astronauts had the proper bone-loss and brought some rocks with unusual properties along; enough facts to convince most people.

When I asked him about the Russions he shrugged it off. They were much to embarrassed (when it turned out that the technology of the sixties was incapable to deliver) to admit that they failed to realise in time that the moon landing was an unachievable goal. Questioning the landing would have amounted to an also-ran.

This didn't quite convince me but I didn't know what to reply. Any suggestions?

BenGun

BenGun
2007-Mar-18, 11:26 AM