PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a picture that shows spectral analysis..

reptile
2003-Jun-01, 02:01 PM
Hi,

I'm doing an essay on Spectral Analysis at the moment (need it on
monday). I'm looking for a picture of a star or a galaxy (probably
from Hubble) with descriptions on what the colours on that picture
tell us about the chemical structure, the heat etc. of what we're
seeing - it shouldn't be too complicated though as i'm not an expert
at this anyway. Of course I'd prefer a beautiful picture if possible
:)

Anyone got something like that for me?

Crimson
2003-Jun-01, 03:15 PM
Hi,

I'm doing an essay on Spectral Analysis at the moment (need it on
monday). I'm looking for a picture of a star or a galaxy (probably
from Hubble) with descriptions on what the colours on that picture
tell us about the chemical structure, the heat etc. of what we're
seeing - it shouldn't be too complicated though as i'm not an expert
at this anyway. Of course I'd prefer a beautiful picture if possible
:)

Anyone got something like that for me?

OK, I'll keep it simple.

Ken Croswell's elegant book Magnificent Universe (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0684845946) has a huge color portrait of the Dumbbell Nebula from the VLT (page 85) and also available here (http://www.eso.org/outreach/press-rel/pr-1998/phot-38-98.html) (but it looks better in the book). The green comes from oxygen, the red comes from hydrogen and nitrogen, and where the two colors mix they make yellow.

Pages 59 and onward of the book show a number of stunning images of H II images (H II = ionized hydrogen). Ionized hydrogen glows red, which is why objects like the Lagoon Nebula (page 59), the Trifid (page 60), etc., are red.

Strangely enough, however, BLUE stars are responsible for the red glow, since only the hottest stars generate the extreme ultraviolet light necessary to ionize hydrogen.