PDA

View Full Version : Time Dilation

Ragnar
2002-Feb-15, 11:00 AM
I am an amateur in the realm of relativity, but I think I grasp the basics. Here is my question: If you are travelling in a space ship away from earth near the speed of light, how would you in the space ship perceive your clock to be moving? I believe that since in your frame of reference, the Earth is moving away from you, so if you could look at a clock on Earth from your space ship it would slow down, therefore making your clock faster by comparison. Is this correct reasoning? On the other hand an observer on Earth would see you and your spaceship moving from his/her frame of reference and see the spaceship clock moving slower. My ultimate question is will the observer in the spaceship really see his clock move faster with respect to the Earth clocks? Thanks for your help. I have a dinner bet on this so don't let me down!

SeanF
2002-Feb-15, 01:18 PM
On 2002-02-15 06:00, Ragnar wrote:
I am an amateur in the realm of relativity, but I think I grasp the basics. Here is my question: If you are travelling in a space ship away from earth near the speed of light, how would you in the space ship perceive your clock to be moving? I believe that since in your frame of reference, the Earth is moving away from you, so if you could look at a clock on Earth from your space ship it would slow down, therefore making your clock faster by comparison. Is this correct reasoning? On the other hand an observer on Earth would see you and your spaceship moving from his/her frame of reference and see the spaceship clock moving slower. My ultimate question is will the observer in the spaceship really see his clock move faster with respect to the Earth clocks? Thanks for your help. I have a dinner bet on this so don't let me down!