PDA

View Full Version : Odd Question...

Vega115
2003-Jun-17, 02:43 AM
Well, firstly, hello! Im a newbie...so, i guess this is my first post! (well, third) But ive been coming to this site forever. But here is my question:

What would would the effect of machine like in the movie Contact be to the surrounding area (sky, land). Moreover, what would happen if you created a machine that somehow created a magnetic field that was actually stronger than the Earth's? Would it weaken the actual, natural magnetic field?

Yes, this question is odd...but it is just my crazy mind coming up with weird questions, and I am pretty sure that the answer is going to be either, "You wold destroy the Earth" or "Its too fantastical to have a real answer" But I'm just looking for an answer! :wink:

The Supreme Canuck
2003-Jun-17, 02:57 AM
Welcome Vega!

If you want some information on the science in Contact, you might as well start with the website attached to this BB!

http://www.badastronomy.com/bad/movies/contact.html

Donnie B.
2003-Jun-17, 05:17 PM
As to magnetic fields, we make all kinds of machines with much stronger magentic fields than the Earth's. In fact, a refrigerator magnet has a much stronger field than Earth's... but it's much smaller.

If you want to prove this, take a dime-store compass and bring a refrigerator magnet close to it. You can easily deflect the compass needle. This proves that the refrigerator magnet's field is much stronger than the Earth's... at that one place.

Of course, other machines (like electric generators and particle accelerators) create fields millions of times stronger than this. But they're still much too small to have any effect on the overall field of the Earth.