PDA

View Full Version : Shooting Wars in space

greenfeather
2007-Jul-01, 12:52 AM
I just rented the Battlestar Galactica miniseries premiere I and wondered about those world war II - style dogfights in space. They were on some kind of asteroid or space station shooting big ol' cannons with big 'ol torpedo things at the Cylones. I said "is this really possible?"

If you are in a small jet-fighter in space and you shoot projectiles, isn't the kick-back going to slow your momentum or even throw you off course?

Secondly, how about those fiery explosions? Would any sort of incendiary weapon really burn in vacuum?? Would those fiery 'tracer bullet' type patterns really occur?

When the projectile hits the target, is it the oxygen atmosphere inside the target ship that causes the fiery explosion? If a Cylon ship gets hit, does it burn? Do the Cylons breathe oxygen, or anything at all?

I'm new to the series, I'm going to rent all the DVDs. It's a dull summer....

But ever since I saw Star Wars something about space battles bothers me. I'm pretty sure you couldn't hear the explosions go "WHUMP.." in vacuum.:confused:

Noclevername
2007-Jul-01, 12:59 AM
I just rented the Battlestar Galactica miniseries premiere I and wondered about those world war II - style dogfights in space. They were on some kind of asteroid or space station shooting big ol' cannons with big 'ol torpedo things at the Cylones. I said "is this really possible?"

If you are in a small jet-fighter in space and you shoot projectiles, isn't the kick-back going to slow your momentum or even throw you off course?

Secondly, how about those fiery explosions? Would any sort of incendiary weapon really burn in vacuum?? Would those fiery 'tracer bullet' type patterns really occur?

When the projectile hits the target, is it the oxygen atmosphere inside the target ship that causes the fiery explosion? If a Cylon ship gets hit, does it burn? Do the Cylons breathe oxygen, or anything at all?