PDA

View Full Version : All right, this is bothering me and I want to know what you guys think.

Tobin Dax
2007-Jul-13, 06:59 AM
It's rare for me to start a thread here, but I really want opinions and/or advice, and the timescale and diversity available here fits my needs.

I'm trying to sublet my current apartment for the next school year, since I renewed my lease in December when asked to. (I'm moving to Kentucky in two weeks for a job.) I posted an ad on Craigslist, and one of the people who responded says he's interested in the apartment, but he is also asking to know about me. He did tell me a little about himself, but the request is enough to put me on edge. How would you respond? (Or how should I, if you think I should?)

Now, I haven't thought this completely through yet, so this is a kind of a train-of-thought post. There are a few details that anyone could find about me on the internet (school, subject I'm studying, an interest or two), and I could tell him that type of thing. I'm just paranoid enough that I don't like the request. I don't see how it's relevant to renting the apartment. The fact that he's currently overseas isn't helping me trust him more.

I do have two other people who I think are likely to take the apartment, and I did tell this guy (truthfully) that he was in line behind them. I just don't know how I should respond, and his insistance on information about myself just feels like a red flag. What do you guys think about this situation?

Tog
2007-Jul-13, 07:23 AM
Being rather paranoid and cynical myself, the first thing that popped to mind was that he wanted feel for who you were to be sure that he wouldn't be getting scary people banging on the door at 3 in the morning looking for "stuff".

The second thing was that he want to know more about you so that when those pre-approved credit card applications show up with your name on them, he knows how to fill them out.