PDA

View Full Version : I need som education!!!!!

pmedic42777
2007-Jul-22, 06:15 AM
First of high I'm kind of new to astronomy, and new to this site, (as a member).
Any way my question.
I have been help categorize galaxies, for galaxy zoo. I have a lot of questions, and as of yet no answers.
1. What are the differences between elliptical, and spiral galaxies, other then anatomical diffidences?
2. I am seeing a wide varieties of colors, but the green galaxies seem to be rare well like 1 in 100 seem to be green, what makes them green.
3. Do spiral galaxies evolve in to elliptical galaxies?

Thank you. Chuck

Tinaa
2007-Jul-22, 06:24 AM
Welcome pmedic42777Q! Our Q&A section is frequented by very knowledgeable people willing and happy to help answer your questions.

Ken G
2007-Jul-22, 01:50 PM
1. What are the differences between elliptical, and spiral galaxies, other then anatomical diffidences?The amount of angular momentum in the stars. All stars orbit around in a galaxy, but the angular momentum of the galaxy measures their tendency to all be going around the same way in the same plane. Stars in elliptical galaxies don't do that so ellipticals don't have much angular momentum. Stars in spirals usually do, so spirals have a lot of angular momentum. Angular momentum is worth tracking because it can be hard to change its value over time.

2. I am seeing a wide varieties of colors, but the green galaxies seem to be rare well like 1 in 100 seem to be green, what makes them green.The surface temperature of stars control their color, so the color of a galaxy is determined by the average color of the stars. Some colors are more likely than others when dealing with stars. Old stars tend to be reddish, bright stars tend to be blue-white. So if new stars are forming, you will see those bright blue-white ones more than anything, and if no new stars are forming you'll see those old red ones, but it's not so easy to get green.