PDA

View Full Version : An apology to the folks in central NC.

pmcolt
2003-Jul-02, 07:16 AM
If you're wondering why we have nothing but rain and clouds for the foreseeable future, don't blame tropical storm Bill. I got an Orion SkyView Pro 8 last week for my birthday, and the weather's just following the First Law of New Scopes.

I probably should've asked this before purchasing, but does anyone have any experience with this scope? It's been years since I've bought one, and this one looked decent, but I couldn't find many reviews of it.

gethen
2003-Jul-02, 02:43 PM
I've got an Orion Skyview Deluxe 8', which I believe is an earlier incarnation of the Pro. I'm still learning to use it myself, and now I wonder if this is the scope that's responsible for all the rain in the U.S. We've had an unusual number of cloudy nights this summer so far too. :wink:
The only real gripe I have is that I think the scope ought to have a star diagonal finder scope. I haven't been able to find an adapter to fit it, so I'm saving for a new finder.
As I said, I'm still learning to use the scope, but I've been really pleased with it so far. That first look at the Whirlpool, on a slightlly hazy night and only moderately dark skies was so exciting I relived it for days. I don't know if this is typical, but using co-ordinates to locate objects only gets me in the ballpark, and then I work a grid pattern to zero in. i bought the scope for "faint fuzzies" and I would say it has delivered.
I use a laser collimator and it seems to work well. The scope is easy for me to set up and polar align (the deluxe came with a built-in polar alignment scope) and I've gotten so I can break it down, transport it, and set it back up pretty quickly. This is essential for me, because even if it's just in the backyard, this scope is too heavy for me to move intact.
My one piece of indispensable additional equipment--a small crescent wrench/screwdriver that fits neatly in the accessory case.