PDA

View Full Version : New telescope and I am completely lost

eddieNY
2003-Jul-06, 12:46 AM
A couple months ago my dad's friend bought him a telescope. I finally had some free time today so I just finished putting it together but I sort of ran into a dead end. I don't have the instruction manual and I know nothing about how to use a telescope. Now that I have a telescope (something I always wanted) this is a hobby I really want to get into. Can anyone give me advice as to what steps I should take when I go out with it for the first time tonight?

Also it reads this near the eyepiece. Can someone explain what it means?

D = 114mm F = 910mm f/g

I assume it means the length of the barrel and the diameter of the miror. Any site references or tips for me, the absolute beginner, will be greatly appreciated.

The model name is: Meade Electronic Model 114EQ-DH
Here are pictures of it:

http://216.119.90.22/pictures/uploads/pic1.jpg

wedgebert
2003-Jul-06, 02:59 AM
A couple months ago my dad's friend bought him a telescope. I finally had some free time today so I just finished putting it together but I sort of ran into a dead end. I don't have the instruction manual and I know nothing about how to use a telescope. Now that I have a telescope (something I always wanted) this is a hobby I really want to get into. Can anyone give me advice as to what steps I should take when I go out with it for the first time tonight?

D = 114mm F = 910mm f/g

I assume it means the length of the barrel and the diameter of the miror. Any site references or tips for me, the absolute beginner, will be greatly appreciated.

I don't know, but I'm guess 114 mm is the diameter of the mirror and 910 mm is the focal length.

As to being lost, I suggest you stop pointing the telescope at the celing and moving it closer to the window so you can see outside. Try finding a cute neighboor to make sure the telescope works :roll:

aurorae
2003-Jul-06, 03:02 AM

D = 114mm F = 910mm f/g