PDA

View Full Version : Another, "Which one should I get" thread..

Ghost40
2007-Sep-20, 01:31 PM
Greetings all,

I am new to astronomy, I am looking at a new purchase. Currently I am working with Baytronix F500XD 114mm, it came with an okay EQ mount. For my astrophotography I am using an Orion MiniEQ mount, with a EQ1 drive, Nikon D40 DSLR. I am looking to step it up a notch, bearing in mind still a beginner. I was looking at Dobs, as a friend has one, Orion XT8 i think. But as I enjoy looking around the sky, I am also taking a fair amount of pictures as well. If it wasn't for that, I would be going with a 8" Dobsonian.

I am looking at the following two scopes, unfortunatly, but budget only sits at $600-$700. And as it goes, I would like to hear your input.

http://www.telescopes.com/telescopes/catadioptric-telescopes/celestronnexstar4se.cfm

or

http://www.telescopes.com/telescopes/catadioptric-telescopes/meadeetx90peastrotelescopepremiereditionuhtccoatin gsbluetube.cfm

aurora
2007-Sep-20, 02:53 PM
Neither of those is particularly good for taking pictures through. Are you sure you want to demand the ability to do that?

Ghost40
2007-Sep-20, 03:20 PM
Well, that seems to be the thing, I enjoy looking around the skies at night, but I also enjoy the photography. I am more inclined at the photography side of it. I realize that they are completely different monsters. As well, the main type of astrophotography I am looking at is deep sky, not planetary.

Laguna
2007-Sep-20, 03:41 PM
For deep sky you should add a zero behind your budget...

RickJ
2007-Sep-20, 07:38 PM
For deep sky you should add a zero behind your budget...

And that's being conservative!

I don't recommend deep sky photography until a beginner has at least a year of visual experience. The learning curve for that alone is steep, add deep sky photography and it makes El Capitan look like a beginner hill.