PDA

View Full Version : time of freefall

grav
2007-Oct-07, 01:01 AM
What is the formula for the time of descent of an object falling from some original distance from a body to a closer distance, beginning at rest relative to the body, classically, using the inverse square law? What about with some initial relative speed?

Kaptain K
2007-Oct-07, 01:41 AM
s0-s1=v0+at^2/2

Sorry, I'm not too good with scientific notation on a computer. :(

publius
2007-Oct-07, 01:59 AM
What I'm sure grav is asking for is the radial free fall taking into account the inverse square variation of g. That is, we're not assuming constant acceleration. That involves solving this differential equation:

d^2x/dt^2 = -k/x^2.

See here, for a solution (first one that popped up with Google!):

http://www.mathpages.com/rr/s4-03/4-03.htm

While not all that complex in the grand scheme, the solution is a bit more complex that most simple physics results.

Grav, it turns out that this Newtonian result holds in Schwarzschild (an amazing "coincidence" some call it, but it's really more than that) in a fashion. The time will the *proper time* of the free faller, not the coordinate time of the Schwarzschild observer. But the "r" will be the Schwarzschild observer's notion of distance, and not the free faller's. :)

That does not hold in the general case of arbitrary mass distributions, mind you, it's just a rather neat property of the high spherical symmetry.

-Richard

Kaptain K
2007-Oct-07, 02:11 AM
Oops! :doh:

grav
2007-Oct-07, 02:13 AM
Thanks a lot, Richard. :) I'll probably have to read through that link a few times, though, before I can make anything out of it.

grav
2007-Oct-07, 02:15 AM
Thanks to you also for trying, Kaptain K. :)

Tobin Dax
2007-Oct-07, 02:19 AM