PDA

View Full Version : What is the significance of adiabaticity

Warren Platts
2007-Oct-18, 02:28 PM
I know that an adiabatic process is one without external sources of energy. For example, the interior of Jupiter is sometimes said to be assumed to have an adiabatic profile--does this just mean that all chemical species are at equilibrium? But what about the Sun? Is the Sun an adiabatic system? What would a nonadiabatic profile be like?

alainprice
2007-Oct-18, 02:35 PM
My background is speaker design. In a closed volume of air, it is adiabatic when the speaker compresses and rarefracts the air. I always understood adiabatic to mean a change in pressure, which changes temperature(without the need for heat transfer).

I must have missed the true definition.

edit: non adiabatic is likely isothermal.

grant hutchison
2007-Oct-18, 03:25 PM
An adiabatic system is one that is energetically isolated: there's no net flow of energy across the boundaries of the system. I don't think chemical equilibrium is relevant to the definition.
Isothermal systems are one specific example of non-adiabaticity: heat flows across the system boundary in order to maintain a constant temperature. But of course any sort of energy transfer makes a system non-adiabatic.
I've encountered the concept most often in atmospheric physics. A rising, effectively adiabatic, parcel of air necessarily cools as it expands, since the expansion is driven by its internal energy; a falling parcel warms. An adiabatic atmosphere would therefore have a characteristic decline in temperature with height: the adiabatic lapse rate.
This has relevance to the convective stability of real atmospheres, which deviate from adiabatic temperature profiles in many different ways.

Grant Hutchison

Ken G
2007-Oct-18, 04:47 PM