PDA

View Full Version : Minimum orbital altitude

Lord Jubjub
2007-Oct-20, 02:24 AM
What is the minimum orbital altitude that a craft could attain and not be ripped to shreds by the atmosphere? I am assuming that the craft has the propellant necessary to obtain orbital speeds regardless.

I would imagine that the troposphere (the bottom seven miles) would be too thick, but could something orbit in the stratosphere? Of course, friction would slow it down, but would it destroy the craft?

Ronald Brak
2007-Oct-20, 04:03 AM
Sputnik 1 was put into an orbit from 215 km at closest approach to 939 km and burnt up after six months. Lower than that and you'll probably see a significant decrease in orbital time. Of course mass to volume ratio will have an effect as air resistance will have more of an effect on an aluminium balloon than a lead cannonball.

Romanus
2007-Oct-20, 04:08 AM
Though I'm no expert, I'm pretty sure nothing could orbit in the stratosphere--even if our putative spacecraft could avoid getting incinerated, drag alone would slow it and bring it down. Even well above the bulk of the atmosphere, orbits are short-lived and unstable below ~200-250 km.

Jens
2007-Oct-22, 01:18 AM
The OP was assuming that it has sufficient propellant, so the drag isn't an issue. It's a question of whether there is material that could withstand the heating that you would experience at various altitudes.

neilzero
2007-Oct-22, 06:45 AM