PDA

View Full Version : regions of expanding space

Kevin Webb
2007-Nov-03, 12:12 AM
when any type of detecion device is pointed towards regions of space that are expanding is anything detected ?

where is one such region that is known to be a place of spatial expansion ?

is the only evidence of spatial expansion indirect eg galaxies moving apart ?

Cougar
2007-Nov-03, 03:06 AM

Your first two questions kind of boil down to this one. The short answer: No.

I expect there is more evidence than I know about -- I'm just an interested amateur. But here is a pretty compelling bit of evidence showing that an event occurring at a redshift of 0.361 appears to be playing out more slowly than normal from our vantage point. I believe there's only one explanation for this: time dilation.

A Definitive Measurement of Time Dilation in the Spectral Evolution of the Moderate-Redshift Type Ia Supernova 1997ex (http://adsabs.harvard.edu/abs/2005ApJ...626L..11F) -- Ryan J. Foley, Alexei V. Filippenko, Douglas C. Leonard, Adam G. Riess, Peter Nugent, and Saul Perlmutter

A couple quotes in the Abstract:

...In an expanding universe where 1+z represents the factor by which space has expanded between the emission and detection of light, the amount of aging in the supernova rest frame should be a factor of 1/(1+z) smaller than the observed-frame aging....

....[Our] result is inconsistent with no time dilation with a significance level of 99.0%, providing evidence against "tired light" and other hypotheses in which no time dilation is expected.... The result is within 1 sigma of the aging expected from a universe in which redshift is produced by cosmic expansion.

Fortunate
2007-Nov-03, 04:42 AM
when any type of detecion device is pointed towards regions of space that are expanding is anything detected ? where is one such region that is known to be a place of spatial expansion ?