PDA

View Full Version : Falling into a black hole

Rastermon2
2008-Jan-03, 06:00 PM
I posted this on my blog...
http://rastermon.livejournal.com
I'm no scientist - how much of my understanding is correct?

If I had a choice of how I would die... purely hypothetical - you'll see.

Since we all have to go sometime, my choice would be to fall into a black hole.
Yup.
Suppose I'm in a VERY stong spacesuit. I see the black hole, or rather, I see an emptiness that is distorting the stars and galaxies behind it with gravitational lensing. Spacetime is bent by gravity. Light travels in (as far as the photon knows) a straight line, the light isn't bending, space itself is bending.

Because I don't want to become a noodle just yet, I position myself to be like a skydiver - belly and face first. I feel my nose getting pulled more towards the hole than the back of my head. Tidal effects are not fun, but it may just clear out my sinuses.

This black void is rushing toward me as I excellerate towards the speed of light... but wait, as I go faster, time slows down. Not my time, but the time of the reality show watchers who are seeing this. To them I never quite enter the black hole, I'm stuck on the event horizon with everything else that has fallen into the black hole. I hope they aren't TiVoing this. Their hard drive will fill up.
I'm catching up to the speed of light, which, by my opinion is the speed of time. So do I really ever enter the black hole? I think I do.
I'm travelling at 99.999% of c
As far as I know, my clock is still ticking off the familiar pace of seconds. But if I were able to turn around, I see the light from the stars and reality tv cameras - travelling at the speed of light also. Would time stand still?
The speed of light is the same for all observers, so the tv camera lights should be coming at me at the speed of - well - light. But distances are shortened so they still look pretty close.