PDA

View Full Version : Hi all! New member with a shot of M45

Madweasel
2008-Jan-27, 10:00 PM
Hello everyone, I'm a new joiner here and it looks a nice Forum. I'm just getting into astrophotography with a digital SLR and a home-made drive that enables me to get exposures up to 60s if I'm lucky. In this instance I was. It was a 60s single exposure, 200mm (though I've cropped it here), f/4, ISO 1600 (if I remember correctly). I used Photoshop CS2 to pull away the light pollution and was thrilled to see left behind quite clearly the Merope nebula, not to mention stars to mag 13-14.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i192/garlicpickle/Canon/IMG_0092blackweb.jpg

I've still got lots to learn, which I hope to do here, but so far this is my best effort.

winensky
2008-Jan-27, 11:15 PM
Absolutely fantastic first post. What did you use to make your drive and mount because a 60s exposure is nothing to sniff at from such a drive. Congratulations, welcome and I hope to see much more.

Kind regards
Matt

Moya
2008-Jan-28, 01:32 AM
Very nice shot and a great first post.

You will learn a lot here, sometimes without ever participating in the conversation (although that's encouraged, of course). I've learned plenty in the short time I've been a member.

paul f. campbell
2008-Jan-28, 01:57 PM
Hi Madweasel.
Nice job on your first post. Do you have a program that lets you stack images like registax4. Your 60sec. single photo is very clear and focused, your home made mount tracks well. I cant wait to see a 30 min or even a 60 min image of M-45. Well done. Welcome to the forum. Clear skies to you. Paul

stargazer_7000
2008-Jan-28, 06:18 PM
...welcome onboard, Madweasel.
nice job there! looking for more (-:

mahesh
2008-Jan-28, 06:46 PM
my hat off to you madweasel........welcome to BAUT...
and thanks for sharing

RickJ
2008-Jan-28, 08:03 PM
Welcome

A lot better than my first try at M45 some 55 years ago. Come to think of it, I never have gotten a really good shot of it since.

Rick