PDA

View Full Version : Force what is it

Peter Mason
2008-Feb-29, 07:47 PM
I am an Engineer and I thought I knew what force was. You learn all about

F =M*a

but then the problems start when you begin consider that it is a vector quantity and has a direction. Where does that come form? And what causes force?

Then because I am an Electronic Engineer you consider applying a static force, no acceleration, to the end of a longitudinally stiff body. In the instant that you do so the remote end does not know about the force being sent to it. So the force goes off but what determines the amplitude as it has no reaction force and nothing constrains it. It presumable has a propagation velocity like a transmission line and an experiment should be able to show that the force is reflected from the distant end.

Has this experiment ever been done and what is the result?

If you consider a Bowden cable coiled up how is it that the force turns round a corner and seems to be constrained by the material of the core. The core is mostly nothing and some protons with electrons suspended around them. Is it the atomic forces between the atoms that is transmitting the applied disturbance form one end to another?

Finally how does all this work on an Astronomic scale?

Steve Limpus
2008-Mar-01, 02:12 AM
Whoa. Good questions - I found this a good place to start:

"The electromagnetic force causes like-charged things to repel and oppositely-charged things to attract. Many everyday forces, such as friction, and even magnetism, are caused by the electromagnetic, or E-M force. For instance, the force that keeps you from falling through the floor is the electromagnetic force which causes the atoms making up the matter in your feet and the floor to resist being displaced.

The carrier particle of the electromagnetic force is the photon. Photons of different energies span the electromagnetic spectrum of x rays, visible light, radio waves, and so forth.