PDA

View Full Version : The universe

Sean Clayden
2008-Mar-06, 08:57 PM
OK, as a novice, treat me with some respect, but where did all the matter within the universe come from. All the elements that we know of are spread throughout the universe, and there is a lot of it in various forms, some we have not discovered yet, but where did it all come from ?

WalrusLike
2008-Mar-06, 10:01 PM
I am not an expert, only only an interested observer... But as I understand it...

Einstein tells us that E=MC2. Which is to say that mass can convert to energy... and energy can condense to mass. Current thinking is that nearly 14 billion years ago there was a massive outpouring of energy from a single 'point'.... the big bang. Those early conditions... physics seems to be reasonably confident right up to tiny fractions of a second after that 'big bang'... but before that, or how or why it happened are in still in the realm of the unknown.

I am not checking my number facts so I may be out by a tad... but they are roughly correct... a few hundred thousand years later the universe had cooled enough for light photons to be able to survive long enough to burst forth... the 'stuff' of the universe became suddenly transparent and the dark ages of the universe was over. Now that initial light has travelled out in all directions (changing colour as it went to the point where now we 'see' it as radio waves....) the snow on your tv screen when it is not on a channel is partly those waves finally reaching us. They come from all directions and are known as the Cosmic Microwave Background.... the left over 'noise' from the big bang. Much can be worked out from looking at maps of the distribution of that light.