PDA

View Full Version : Questions from site newbie re photos & new trips to moon

Dingle
2003-Sep-23, 06:38 PM
Hi...great site, very interesting. Although I believe the lunar landings to be real there are a couple of things I have always wondered & as a newbie I apologise if these have been answered before.

1) With the hubble satellite taking great pictures of distant galaxies & satellites able to read your car registration plate from space why do we never seem to get any new pictures of the moon? Particularly the lunar landing site, as surely this would end all these arguments immediately?

2) Why are there no new visits to the moon, from the US or indeed anyone? Ok i can understand cost issues but surely there are big businesses out there that would happily part fund any trip to the moon. The advertising aspect would literally be out of this world, I can just imagaine the first McMoonalds now!! But seriously a large untapped land mass so close to us , it seems strange no one is doing anything?

JayUtah
2003-Sep-23, 07:08 PM
1) With the hubble satellite taking great pictures of distant galaxies & satellites able to read your car registration plate from space why do we never seem to get any new pictures of the moon?

It doesn't work that way. You can see a penny at arm's length but you can't see a penny from a mile away. Your eyes didn't get any worse and the penny didn't get any smaller. It has to do with angular resolution. You can read a license plate from orbit (you really can't, but let's stay with that) because it's only 100 miles from earth orbit to the license plate. The moon is 2,500 times farther away, and so you can't read license plates on the moon. Those distant galaxies are millions of times farther away, but they're also very huge. You can see a truck from a mile away, but not the penny, because the truck is very large. But if you hold a penny at arm's length, it will completely block out the truck a mile away. That's how you have to think of it.