View Full Version : Oh my God

bmpbmp
2003-Sep-25, 03:52 PM
Isnt this bad and dangerous for us

http://edition.cnn.com/2003/TECH/space/09/25/space.cannibal.reut/index.html

Reacher
2003-Sep-25, 03:59 PM
Um, how, exactly?

I can't see it being dangerous to us. Care to clarify how you think this will affect us?

This kind of thing has been observed before. Well... that or I've read that article before. I'm certain, though, that I have read about other galaxies chowing down on their neighbours. I'm not worried about it, but I'm not an expert in... well, anything.

Eta C
2003-Sep-25, 04:00 PM
No. Chill. Relax. Have a beer if you're over 21 and don't plan to drive for several hours.

This event is clear on the other side of the galaxy. We couldn't observe the dwarf galaxy because of the dust and other stuff in the galactic center. It's not likely to cause any observable effects over here.

bmpbmp
2003-Sep-25, 04:05 PM
stars in sagitarious or maybe milky way to explode or have a bad effect also doing damage to the milky way with earth in it

Reacher
2003-Sep-25, 04:11 PM
Well, from my understanding, Sagittaruis is just getting torn apart. No exploding, no bad effects. I mean, the term 'eaten' is not literal. The Milky Way has no intestines. And the effects on the Milky way will be minimal, i think, especially im our neck of the... galaxy. It would have been mentioned in the article if it was dangerous.

bmpbmp
2003-Sep-25, 04:13 PM
Coulnt it cause a chain reaction affecting the earth or milky way i mean if they are merging together and stuff

Reacher
2003-Sep-25, 04:15 PM
What kind of chain reaction? It's probably on the other side of the galaxy anyway. If any stars were to explode, which I severely doubt they will, it will affect us in absolutely no way. Except a pretty little light in the sky.

Rue
2003-Sep-25, 04:17 PM