PDA

View Full Version : Sci-Fi story problem--need help

space cadet
2008-Aug-13, 02:27 PM
Hey, Babblers. I've been working on a novel this summer, and unfortunately I've run into a bit of a wall. Maybe some of you tech-heads out there can help. The basic idea is, a twelve-year-old boy living in medieval England is given access to futuristic technology, which allows him to rig an archery contest to ensure his lovable but extremely untalented uncle will win. Obviously, I'm going to need to be allowed some degree of creative license, but I want it to be at least somewhat believable. To be honest, this is my first attempt at SF and I'm having a difficult time coming up with a solution to this problem without resorting to magic--something that does not exist in this story. It's intended to be a kids' story and not hard-core sci-fi, so there's no need to go into too much detail, but I at least need to explain the basic idea and understand the jargon well enough to make it sound convincing. Some things to keep in mind:

The technology can be a lot more advanced than what we have today, but it still needs to be somewhat believable.

The boy has access to someone who is familiar with the technology and can show him how it works.

The spectators as well as the boy's uncle can NOT be aware that the contest is being rigged. In other words, none of the technological components can be immediately noticeable.

It would make sense if the components they used were cannibalized from a device intended for some other purpose since they only have a limited amount of time to throw this scam together.