PDA

View Full Version : what the heck is mainstream science??

Paul Leeks
2008-Sep-08, 11:38 PM
I am confused about this I wonder if others are too.

Is mainstream science something accepted to be true in cold clinical terms??

what about weird things(paranormal)? I consider that to be mainstream science,things experienced by normal people and studied by normal people..it's called Parapsychology!

I don't consider psychology to be mainstream..its a pseudoscience( I studied it at uni,it's rubbish!)

Parapsychology is a real science..it's what REALLY happens in life on all different levels!

I have noticed some of the mindsets around here....if you don't have evidence your deluded, thats like me saying if you don't have your birth certificate you don't exist!!

PL

spratleyj
2008-Sep-09, 12:01 AM
Wow, what a post!

Jigsaw
2008-Sep-09, 12:03 AM
"Mainstream" science, as generally used, means data that is generally accepted by the scientific community. This is because this data is arrived at via studies and experiments that are reproducible--a scientist can publish his experiment including the details of how he arrived at his conclusions, and another scientist can reproduce his exact experiment and achieve the same results.

Parapsychology has no such mechanism, and therefore it is not considered "mainstream". Nobody has ever done parapsychology experiments with reproducible results.

No, because it's possible to describe paranormal events in "cold, clinical terms". What makes mainstream science different is its capacity for reproducible experiments and results.

PetersCreek
2008-Sep-09, 12:19 AM
Your distinction between psychology and parapsychology seems completely arbitrary and self-serving. Human behavior "REALLY happens in life", too.

pzkpfw
2008-Sep-09, 12:25 AM
...thats like me saying if you don't have your birth certificate you don't exist

No, because there are other forms of evidence.