PDA

View Full Version : Beaming power to Earth

apolloman
2008-Sep-15, 08:29 AM
Morning all.

I read an article on Space.com this morning about an experiment carried out by a Mr. John C. Mankins who demonstrated solar power transmission by transmitting 20 watts of power between two islands.
Despite the fact that less than one one-thousandth of a percent of the power actually arrived, technology like this could have a huge impact if developed to beam energy from orbiting solar panels to power stations on Earth.

Could somebody explain how this works ? how do you beam power back to Earth from space ? By laser ?
Is it a feasible tecnology to invest in or could it become one?

It sounds like the perfect "free" fuel for the future but I'm no expert so wanted some opinions or ideas.

Thanks

Van Rijn
2008-Sep-15, 08:56 AM
Could somebody explain how this works ? how do you beam power back to Earth from space ?

Not much different from the way the sun "beams" power to Earth from space, and receivers are used to convert it to electricity. Though in this case, it might be microwaves, or a tight laser beam. Years ago, Peter Glaser suggested building solar power satellites that would convert sunlight to microwaves, then send the microwaves to large rectifying antennas on Earth. There are some advantages and some disadvantages over just using PV panels on Earth.

Some advantages: There is no weather in space, the solar power satellite can be put in an orbit where it receives constant sunlight, and the microwaves sent to earth don't care that much about weather (there is some loss of energy in heavy weather). So it's a constant power source.

The key disadvantages: Complexity and cost. Right now, cost is far too high to compete with other energy options.