PDA

View Full Version : A Bailout Alternative?

Donnie B.
2008-Sep-29, 09:11 PM
Okay, so Congress choked on the bailout plan. And for good reasons, perhaps. It certainly was unpopular with the voters.

So (trying to avoid anything explicitly political), let's look at the problem it was supposed to solve, and see if there's a different approach that makes any sense.

Disclaimer: I'm an engineer, not a financial wiz. I may misuse terms and misunderstand the problem at a deep level, so YMMV. (Let's discuss!)

The fundamental issue that's causing the problem in the banking system is something called "mortgage-backed securities", basically equity paper that bundles a lot of mortgages (mostly home mortgages, I believe, but perhaps some commercial real estate as well). The banks put these equities together when it seemed house prices would go up forever. Now they're going the other way.

Many of the mortgages that underlie the securities are "sub-prime" -- they were structured to allow people who really couldn't afford their homes to get in at a low interest rate. The idea was that by the time they had to pay a higher rate, the house would be worth more, so they'd be okay. But no...

So lots of people are delinquent on their payments, or have already been foreclosed on, or they now owe much, much more on the house than it's worth. The whole housing sector is in a mess, and the mortgage-backed securities are worth... well, not nothing, but nobody really knows what they're worth. Ergo, banks are in trouble, and nobody's willing to lend any money because they have no idea who's going to be solvent tomorrow.

The bailout plan that was killed today tried to shore up the system by buying up those securities at a price to be set by the Treasury Secretary. The taxpayer would then own securities that might be worth something, someday, or might not be worth anything ever; meanwhile, the banks would have some cash and could start lending again.