PDA

View Full Version : Planetary colony or Orbital habitat?

PraedSt
2008-Sep-29, 10:18 PM
Just curious to know what the population of this (excellent) forum thinks.

As an economist I think the colony's Balance of Payments, and thus its chances of survival, might be in better shape if it were situated on a planet.

But as a space enthusiast I'd have to say the lack of a gravity well for an orbital sounds extremely appealing.

So: Planet or free floating?

Thanks,

Dabs

cjameshuff
2008-Sep-30, 01:34 AM
Just curious to know what the population of this (excellent) forum thinks.

As an economist I think the colony's Balance of Payments, and thus its chances of survival, might be in better shape if it were situated on a planet.

But as a space enthusiast I'd have to say the lack of a gravity well for an orbital sounds extremely appealing.

So: Planet or free floating?

How about free floating, on a planet?
Given a good way to turn CO2, water, and H2SO4 into UV and H2SO4-resistant polymers and rocket fuel, Venus is not a bad choice. At the right altitude, you have Earthlike pressures and temperatures, allowing lightweight protective gear to be worn "outside" and greatly reducing the danger of a breach. Air is a lifting gas, the atmosphere gives you a way to both keep temperatures stable without relying on heavy, complex, power hungry machinery, and shielding against particle radiation and meteorites, and there's no shortage of sunlight for growing crops. And, though the atmosphere is mostly CO2, Venus has more nitrogen overall than Earth, and is about the only other source for it closer than Saturn. Venus could be a good source of supplies for a colony on Mercury or inner-system asteroids. And given the above way to turn atmosphere into building material, you could quickly build enormous volumes of habitat space.