PDA

View Full Version : Intergalagtic Space

Fiery Phoenix
2008-Oct-15, 03:24 PM
In interstellar space, we have cosmic clouds, dust, supernova remnants, and star stuff. All of which could somewhat affect a spaceship - or at least can be seen by observers, so it's not really "empty space".

Now, is intergalagtic space the same? I mean, in there, we probably wouldn't see anything other than points of light spread throughout the place (galaxies). Or is there something similar in the space between galaxies, the real space? I don't think supernova remnants even exist in intergalagtic space, as I assume they are within the limits of the galaxy where they belong. I do think that there might be some remaining stuff from the Big Bang 14 billion years ago, though, but is there anything else? Also, would a spaceship feel a difference in intergalactic space?

I'm just curious, like all scientists. Except, of course, I'm not a scientist. LOL! :lol:

Thanks in advance, everybody!

Saluki
2008-Oct-15, 03:56 PM
Intergalactic space certainly contains less than intragalactic space, but it is not empty. At the macro scale there are occasional rogue stars/planets/debris/etc. On the micro scale, there are various subatomic particles popping in and out of existance.

Cougar
2008-Oct-15, 07:44 PM
I do think that there might be some remaining stuff from the Big Bang 14 billion years ago, though, but is there anything else?

Beyond what Saluki said, we expect halos of dark matter to extend well beyond the visible edges of galaxies. Whether there are wisps of dark matter out in the voids is apparently unknown... probably because there is no way to see any evidence of such.

As to the "remaining stuff from the Big Bang," namely hydrogen and helium, there may be a little out between the galaxies I suppose, but of course most such stuff was drawn in to the nearest gravitational infall, ending up in galaxies.