PDA

View Full Version : Which price to go for, a car that is cheap or the same one which is more expensive?

Ross PK81
2008-Nov-01, 08:52 PM
I've got an idea of what sort of car I want, I can afford to pay around a thousand at the most.

I've seen Vauxhaul Astra's from the mid to late 90's advertised many times from around 500 to 1000.

I'm sure the cars for around 500 were also described as being reliable in the adverts, so why is there such a huge difference in the prices for these cars?

Is there any point to me paying 1000 if I can get the same car for around 500 instead?

I'm totally new to all this since this will be the first ever car I buy.

Thanks.

PraedSt
2008-Nov-01, 08:54 PM
Mileage.

Ross PK81
2008-Nov-01, 08:57 PM
Mileage.

Ah okay, so even if they're both reliable the one with more milage is more likely to become unreliable sooner than the car which is more expensive which has done less miles, hence the price.

MarkB
2008-Nov-01, 09:02 PM
Hi Ross,

Ideally you want low milleage, one owner (preferably an old lady) and a service history. Forget about things like colour and the alloys it has and stick to the underlying mechanics.
BTW where in Manc are you? I have a job in Urmston on Monday, small world :)

Mark

Ross PK81
2008-Nov-01, 09:07 PM
Hi Marc, I'm not actually living in Manchester anymore. But I was born and grew up there, I lived in New Moston which is in North Manchester, about a 10 minute bus ride away from the city center.

PraedSt
2008-Nov-01, 09:08 PM
Ideally you want low milleage, one owner (preferably an old lady) and a service history. Forget about things like colour and the alloys it has and stick to the underlying mechanics.

I'd second that Ross. Also, if it's your first car, take someone along who knows how to kick the tires. Maybe Mark if you two manage meet up? :)

Ross PK81
2008-Nov-01, 09:23 PM