PDA

View Full Version : Trying to install a scanner: Advice?



Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 05:35 PM
I'm not greatly computer literate. Current trouble stumps me. I'm unsure how much I can "discuss" this problem (aside from outline below), and thank anyone in advance for direct advice.

1. The computer is a '98 Compaq Presario.
2. Originally possessed Windows 95.
3. Later upgraded to Windows 98.
4. Later upgraded to Windows XP.

5. Purchased and am trying to install HP Deskjet F4200 scanner/printer/copier. Is compatible with Windows XP.

6. Current C: disk has only 1/2 the KB needed to install the HP Deskjet.
7. I've deleted and uninstalled everything on C: drive I possibly can.
8. Am still very "short" the KB's required for installation. :( :wall:

My questions are: At this point should I wipe the C: drive entirely clean and reinstall Windows XP? Would this help facilitate installing the HP Deskjet?

Thank you sincerely for any pointed advice.

PraedSt
2008-Nov-07, 05:47 PM
Amateur advice

You need to buy a new PC I think. It's ten years old (I'm impressed!), so if you still have the original hard drive, the capacity is tiny by today's standards. Not enough memory to hold all the programmes you need.

If you don't want to replace the whole computer, you can just replace your hard drive with one that has a larger capacity. But this might mean replacing other components as well to make sure everything stays compatible, and works properly. Also find someone who knows what they're doing! :)

NEOWatcher
2008-Nov-07, 05:49 PM
6. Current C: disk has only 1/2 the KB needed to install the HP Deskjet.
Which is...?


My questions are: At this point should I wipe the C: drive entirely clean and reinstall Windows XP? Would this help facilitate installing the HP Deskjet?
I don't like to say this, but it sounds like your machine is hopelessly out of date for new software at this point. I'm surprised a ten year old machine is even capable of running XP (at least without major delays).

If you have barely enough space for a driver (and it's associated stuff) then I'm not sure how you can even have enough space for future data.

Is there anything on the machine that requires XP? It might be a good machine to keep for an older OS or linex or such.

Can you add a new drive and offload some stuff off of C? Or replace it with a bigger C?

Metricyard
2008-Nov-07, 06:12 PM
I'd go for a new machine. A machine that old would more than likely not be able to recognize any of the newer hard disks, without special overlay software. The bios in the machine probably maxes out at 20MB anyway, maybe 50MB if the bios is updated.

Actually, you may find it hard to find a drive that would even be physically compatible with it. Most drives I've seen sold currently use the SATA interface, while yours uses an ATA interface.

I'm sure you can still find the ATA drives out there, but be prepared to tear your hair out setting it up.

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 06:13 PM
Which is...?

It's requiring at least 450 KB [preferably 510 KB]. I'm apparently short that by about half. :(


I don't like to say this, but it sounds like your machine is hopelessly out of date for new software at this point. I'm surprised a ten year old machine is even capable of running XP (at least without major delays).

Come to think of it, a friend was shocked I installed XP. And it works great. ::shrugs::


Is there anything on the machine that requires XP?

No. Simply wanted the upgrade at the time.


Can you add a new drive and offload some stuff off of C? Or replace it with a bigger C?

I'd have no idea how to go about that. May simply have to buy a new computer, as has been mentioned. :(

But I'm going to try to wipe the C: disk [I'm wondering if "old stuff" (Windows 95/98 leftovers) I can't get to is clogging up the works], then reinstall Windows XP. It's worth a shot.

jj_0001
2008-Nov-07, 06:16 PM
Sorry, have to go with the majority here. I'd go to the nearest "Computer Surplus" place and get a low-end machine for thereabouts of $300, it will blow the socks, shoes, and trousers off your old machine, have 1000baseT, integrated graphics that make the Compaq look sleepy, 7.1 audio, and all on the MOBO.

You can, btw, (to Metricyard) get lots of ATA drives, or ATA controllers. If your old disc is an ATA disc, you can probably get the shop to put it up on your new machine as a secondary drive, although you may find that it's the size of a baby peanut compared to what your $300 gets you now.

Sorry, not the answer you wanted. But you have your XP license, just move it to the new machine. Update everything to SP3 and all new updates, too, btw.

PraedSt
2008-Nov-07, 06:22 PM
May simply have to buy a new computer, as has been mentioned. :(

They're cheaper and better than they used to be Nadme. Give it a go. :)

jj_0001
2008-Nov-07, 06:27 PM
They're cheaper and better than they used to be Nadme. Give it a go. :)

Yeah, and don't be afraid to go to dual core Core 2, which will still be pretty cheap, so to speak.

You can get a top of the line Quad Core 2 with two 320 discs, 800MHz Fsb, and a decent video card for under 1K$, and that will blow your doors off.

But I'd suggest one of two paths.

1) Go with the "cheap low-end box" (which was just yesterday's high end box) and at most a dual core, on board video, etc. This is the cheap solution.

or

2) Buy a new speed-demon, and it will last you another 10 years. (at least that works for me) That, with top of the line video card, 2.8G Quad Core 2, a couple of big discs, etc, should set you back around 1K or if you go really REALLY zippy with the video, around 1.3K. And it will be faster than you can imagine. Then load Roller Coaster Tycoon 3 Platinum and have at :)

Metricyard
2008-Nov-07, 06:30 PM
Sorry, I thought I saw Presario laptop. Disregard all mention of drives. for laptops.
But, my comment about ATA/SATA still stands. If you by a new machine, chances are that there will not be an ATA connection on the logic board. Yes, you can buy an ATA controller, but is the cost for the controller justifiable? Depends on how large the old HD is I would guess.

How large is the old drive in question Nadme? Out of curiosity.

Of course, if you do get a new(used) box, Chances are you could use your old drive as a secondary device.

Or better still, see if you can get your old drive ghosted over to the new drive. It is better to start from scratch, but it can be nice to keep all your old settings and stuff.

NEOWatcher
2008-Nov-07, 06:51 PM
It's requiring at least 450 KB [preferably 510 KB]. I'm apparently short that by about half. :(
About a 6th of a floppy of free space and it runs? WOW. :eek:


No. Simply wanted the upgrade at the time.
I'd have no idea how to go about that. May simply have to buy a new computer, as has been mentioned. :(

Maybe a downgrade is in order if you are willing to freeze the machine at that. Even if you buy a new machine, the older machine may still be usefull with older OS.

In fact, if you have some older apps, the might actually be better to keep on the older machine with the older OS.


But I'm going to try to wipe the C: disk [I'm wondering if "old stuff" (Windows 95/98 leftovers) I can't get to is clogging up the works], then reinstall Windows XP. It's worth a shot.
Well? it's your time...enjoy.:lol:

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 06:55 PM
How large is the old drive in question Nadme? Out of curiosity.

Um...I don't know. :D Not sure where the manual is (might have gotten accidentally tossed out during last Spring cleaning).

Here's some info I found via Google:

http://www.edgetechcorp.com/memory/upgrade.asp?cid=17055

Doesn't look promising. :(

PraedSt
2008-Nov-07, 06:58 PM
Nadme, that link shows RAM, not hard disk memory. DO NOT FIDDLE ANY MORE. Please find someone else to do this. Otherwise this might be the last time we see you on BAUT. :)

PraedSt
2008-Nov-07, 06:59 PM
That :) should be a :(

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 06:59 PM
Maybe a downgrade is in order if you are willing to freeze the machine at that.

I don't think that's possible, as I picked up a horrible trojan virus when we had Win 98. It nearly destroyed the computer. That's when I installed XP.

Unless Win 98 is still for sale somewhere (doubtful).

Will go for wipe and reinstall XP. If that doesn't work, I guess get a new computer.

Thanks for all the input (current and possible future).

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 07:01 PM
Nadme, that link shows RAM, not hard disk memory. DO NOT FIDDLE ANY MORE. Please find someone else to do this. Otherwise this might be the last time we see you on BAUT. :)

I dunno, this computer is a hearty little machine. ;) I'll be back...(Terminator don't jinx me now!) one way or another.

Metricyard
2008-Nov-07, 07:03 PM
Um...I don't know. :D Not sure where the manual is (might have gotten accidentally tossed out during last Spring cleaning).

Here's some info I found via Google:

http://www.edgetechcorp.com/memory/upgrade.asp?cid=17055

Doesn't look promising. :(

Now I'm confused. Are you short disk space, lack the physical memory requirements, or both? If you right click on the My Computer icon and go to properties, it should show you how much physical memory is installed. (in MB)

If you open up my computer, and right click on the C: icon, and again click properties, it should show you how much disk space you have, and how much is free in a pie chart form.

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 07:16 PM
Now I'm confused. Are you short disk space, lack the physical memory requirements, or both? If you right click on the My Computer icon and go to properties, it should show you how much physical memory is installed. (in MB)

If you open up my computer, and right click on the C: icon, and again click properties, it should show you how much disk space you have, and how much is free in a pie chart form.

Okay, thanks -- I'll do that.

And if it's no go, I'll of course go with previous advice given (don't tamper further and get different computer). It's sinking in that wiping drive and reinstalling XP is likely pointless.

PraedSt
2008-Nov-07, 07:29 PM
I must say though, I'm still impressed. Having a 10 year old PC is almost as good as having a jewellery allergy ;)

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 07:48 PM
Lol, PraedSt! :)


Now I'm confused. Are you short disk space, lack the physical memory requirements, or both? If you right click on the My Computer icon and go to properties, it should show you how much physical memory is installed. (in MB)

266 MHz
64.0 MB of RAM


If you open up my computer, and right click on the C: icon, and again click properties, it should show you how much disk space you have, and how much is free in a pie chart form.

Free Space: 229 MB
Total Size: 3.73 GB

:(

Metricyard
2008-Nov-07, 08:00 PM
Lol, PraedSt! :)



266 MHz
64.0 MB of RAM



Free Space: 229 MB
Total Size: 3.73 GB

:(

:eek: 266 MHz? 64 MB ram? I'm shocked that you managed to get XP running at all.

And I thought my machine (730MHZ, 512mb ram, 60GB drive) was old.
No question, you need a new machine ASAP.

Edit to add: I'm really surprised you managed to get a 4GB drive to run on this machine.

The_Radiation_Specialist
2008-Nov-07, 08:15 PM
Just to give you a scale an average PC these days has about 20 times more processing power, RAM and Hard disk space than yours.

Since you were doing OK before, you do not need an upgrade "ASAP". Simply plug the scanner and wait for it to install. Use the CD if there is one.

Good Luck!

mugaliens
2008-Nov-07, 09:42 PM
1. Disconnect the scanner.

2. Uninstall any scanner software you may have installed.

3. Uninstall any scanner drivers you may have installed.

4. Reboot.

5. Ensure your Windows XP installation is up to date.

6. Download latest copy of scanner software.

7. Do not connect the scanner until the installation software tells you to.

8. Begin installing the scanner software, and follow the instructions, hooking up the scanner only when it tells you.

If that doesn't work, buy a new scanner (it's a lot cheaper than buying a new PC).

It that still doesn't work, by a new PC.

PraedSt
2008-Nov-07, 10:10 PM
Ok Nadme. We've lost you haven't we? You've gone and blown up something. :rolleyes:

Metricyard
2008-Nov-07, 10:15 PM
1. Disconnect the scanner.

2. Uninstall any scanner software you may have installed.

3. Uninstall any scanner drivers you may have installed.

4. Reboot.

5. Ensure your Windows XP installation is up to date.

6. Download latest copy of scanner software.

7. Do not connect the scanner until the installation software tells you to.

8. Begin installing the scanner software, and follow the instructions, hooking up the scanner only when it tells you.

If that doesn't work, buy a new scanner (it's a lot cheaper than buying a new PC).

It that still doesn't work, by a new PC.

Unless Nadme upgrades his memory to 128MB and gets a larger disk drive or clears off at lease another 250MB of disk space, the software will not load.

Minimum requirements for the printer Madme listed is 128MB(256MB recommended)of ram and 450MB of disk space.

Nadme
2008-Nov-07, 10:22 PM
Ok Nadme. We've lost you haven't we? You've gone and blown up something. :rolleyes:

{{wobbles up on unsteady legs from a smoking pile of bricks and plaster *cough-cough* ooooh my aching head}}

Nope, I'm fine. :)

Thanks for the advice folks above (I'm a girl actually).

I've obtained a 2nd-hand computer. Will check out its properties and etc. If it won't take the scanner software, then I'll have to get a new computer.

mugaliens
2008-Nov-08, 11:38 PM
If it won't take the scanner software, then I'll have to get a new computer.

And that's not actually a bad thing, Nadme - a few hundred bucks today will buy you something that's 20 times faster and more capable than your old presario.