PDA

View Full Version : Expanding universe

Bigemptybrain
2008-Nov-07, 11:20 PM
Hi, I'm new to all this so I hope i'm in the right place to be asking a question, or should I say request some discussion, on the question of an ever expanding universe. If we view that energy and matter are the same thing in a different form and we take the amount of energy and matter we can see and set those results aside. If we could then measure all of the dark matter and dark energy(being the same thing). It would be cool if these two ratios(matter:energy against dark matter:dark energy) corolated to one another in some way. And, then would it all add up to enough for there to be enough mass to slow the expansion down and eventually make it contract. I remember reading somewhere some guy worked out the magic figure that there needs to be so much mass for this to happen. I know the observation is that the universe is accelerating its expansion but can we assume for a minute that our observation is distorted in some way and we are wrong thinking that it is accelerating at this rate and these results are infact from the past. Or, we are in an accelerarory stage that at some time in the future will slow down.

sabianq
2008-Nov-08, 12:13 AM
I personally don't believe that it is ever expanding.
seems to go against the laws of thermodynamics.

this is what i believe is happening

the universe started as a collision between vast high energy dimensions, the collision happens like the ocean collides with the shore or like oil and water.
this produces a foam of universes. each tiny bubble of foam is its own universe, each taking up its own space, in its own dimension, its own time.
a foam of universes permeate the bigger universe that all of this happens in.
the universe (single bubble int the foam) is born, has a life, and dies. like everything in the universe.