PDA

View Full Version : Our planet earth

Seeka
2008-Dec-05, 08:42 PM
Okay so im just starting out i don't know a great deal about astronomy or the universe but one question that always vexes me, How the hell are we here alone!
How is it that our planet is the only one we know of that has life on it? If the universe is so gigantic and theres discoveries being made of other planets each year how can it be its just us. Im looking up at a beautiful half moon and thinking how far man has come, Evolution, the technology available to us, the lifesaving operations we can perform etc and all the while im asking are we really alone?? Also when our sun does burn out will we be so advanced that we will be living elsewhere does anybody think? I was depressed for several days to hear our sun will collapse and we will be sucked in and that will be it for Earth.. I know we won't be around when that happens but still its a horrible thought! Any opinions greatly appreciated:)

NEOWatcher
2008-Dec-05, 08:50 PM
Okay so im just starting out i don't know a great deal about astronomy or the universe but one question that always vexes me, How the hell are we here alone!
We don't know, but the distances, mechanisms and times for communication of any kind of information are so vast that the chances are virtually nil.

How is it that our planet is the only one we know of that has life on it? If the universe is so gigantic...
Yep; it's because the univers is so gigantic. ;)

Imagine in times gone by, some primitive tribe living on an island. No matter how hard they yell; they don't know if someone can hear them. They try to head out away from the island, and either perish along the way, or can only go so far and turn back.
Don't you think they would imagine they were alone, and wonder if there possibly was anyone else out there?

We just don't have the right canoe yet, and even if we do, the nearby islands are deserted.

slang
2008-Dec-05, 09:52 PM