PDA

View Full Version : Random Jibberish About Bad Physics

Wina
2008-Dec-26, 06:12 AM
Hio!
Been a long time since my last post but I'll try to fit the syntax here:

I'm a published Author of sci-fi that borders on fantasy and I'm coming up on my third novel (the first is already published, the second on its way) and of course; this means that I need to finally EXPLAIN all of the science behind the first two novels.

This gave rise to a really weird question about nuclear physics and all kinds of horrible sub-atomic obscurity. SO... the question is thus...

I need to figure out how to have a chemical reaction (between ions alone, one reaction needs to be entirely negative ions, the other entirely positive ions) wherein mid-reaction a third (completely unexpected) variable interacts with the first two reactants to produce a nuclear explosion and an innocuous chemical which does not include the entire sum of the original reactants.

To put it in bad algebraic terms: A + B (interrupted by C) --> D + a nuclear explosion

(sort of like cold FISSION, not FUSION)

To complicate matters, all of the chemicals (both the reactants AND the products aside from the explosion of course) need to be totally innoccuous to human life. The explosion I've already explained away in the literature.

Now I don't need a giant list of chemical equations since I can't really put that into the story and make it come out sounding like anything other than a College paper. But at the same time, I do need to figure out what an at least feasibly bad explanation would be so that I can dumb it down into readable text which flows with the story. Basically I have a super-genius explaining this phenominon to a bunch of adults who don't even understand the chemical composition of water.