PDA

View Full Version : Light

Russell
2003-Dec-12, 12:52 PM
Hello:
I'm new to this and I'm not a pro scientist so please excuse me.
Can anybody please give me a good analogy for visualizing how the speed of light will always travel at a constant speed no matter how fast you are traveling? Though I understand the consequences of both Special and General Relativity this concept just has'nt sunk in. Thank You very much.

Glom
2003-Dec-12, 01:11 PM
Welcome.

The truth is that visualising this is tricky as it all depends on giving up a subconsious concept that we all hold dear: an ethereal frame of reference. After the M-M experiment, Lorentz derived his translations mathematically. But, to explain the results physically, he still made use of the quintessential ether. He postulated that as objects move through the ether, their length shrinks and their time dilates. Einstein did away with the ether and said that everything is relative.

It is not an attractive prospect. We like the idea of an ethereal frame of reference. It gives us a feeling of security, knowing we can define our exact position, time, etc. So, when we consider that things seem different in different frames, and that their is no way to determine which is the "true" way it should look, is a little disorienting.

Consider: You observe a couple of spaceships moving relative to you, exchanging messages via flashes of light in the direction of travel. You see the light travel at c and are happy. They are travelling at a certain speed, v and as such, you perceive them travelling c-v slower than the light.