PDA

View Full Version : Saddle-shaped?

spaceprobe
2009-Jun-26, 02:29 PM
Hi all; hope this is the right place to ask a question.

I hear a lot about the "shape" of the Universe and really can't find a good explanation of what is meant.

I assume that if it were possible to look at it from the outside, the Universe would be a sphere radiating out and expanding from the big bang centre?

So, when astronomers say the Universe is saddle-shaped, what do they mean? I'm a graphic designer so need the answer described so as I can visualise it - if that's is even possible. How can a 3D space have a 2D shape?

Many thanks,
K.

hhEb09'1
2009-Jun-26, 02:41 PM
Welcome to BAUT, spaceprobe

I hear a lot about the "shape" of the Universe and really can't find a good explanation of what is meant.

I assume that if it were possible to look at it from the outside, the Universe would be a sphere radiating out and expanding from the big bang centre?
So, when astronomers say the Universe is saddle-shaped, what do they mean? I'm a graphic designer so need the answer described so as I can visualise it - if that's is even possible. How can a 3D space have a 2D shape?

It's an analogy. When they talk about the sphere, in the example you mention, the space is 2D--only the surface of the sphere, it doesn't contain the center. The examples are 2D analogies, since it is difficult, as you say, to visualize even 3D analogies.

EnigmaPower
2009-Jun-26, 03:25 PM

There is no center to the universe. As far as the shape, when any structure is formed as long as it is large enough, gravity ensures it is spherical.

Ampatent
2009-Jun-26, 03:29 PM
There is no center to the universe. As far as the shape, when any structure is formed as long as it is large enough, gravity ensures it is spherical.

If it is spherical wouldn't it have a center?

EnigmaPower
2009-Jun-26, 03:34 PM