PDA

View Full Version : Question about thermodynamics and the creation of the universe

Gary_Glitter
2009-Jul-03, 09:27 AM
Law 1 - Energy cannot be created or destroyed
Law 2 - Entrophy increases to a maximum in a sealed system

If this is true does it mean the universe was created rather than just 'there' for infinite time as otherwise entrophy would have already increased to a maximum?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am just a nOOb studying GCSE physics. Thanks for any help.

astromark
2009-Jul-03, 01:34 PM
Law 1 Energy-cannot be created or destroyed.

If this is true does it mean the universe was created rather than just 'there' for infinite time as otherwise entrophy would have already increased to a maximum?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am just a nOOb studying GCSE physics. Thanks for any help.

___ You will not thank me for I am not actually helping... No its not a stupid question. This is the place for questions astronomy related... Your two statements are trouble to me... Both can be disputed. Just watch... and so to if they can be shown to be wrong then your second paragraph is redundant. I as you might guess I have a problem with your choice of words... 'created' is a word astronomy would shy away from. According to me. To qualify this I will add:)who am I ? Just my own authority:)... and the quote should have been " You can not create or destroy matter." and that its been said that matter is or can be energy. I am sure much more can be said here., and will be. Welcome.... mark

antoniseb
2009-Jul-03, 02:45 PM

The "Laws" of thermodynamics don't necessarily apply to the entire universe all at once.

Jeff Root
2009-Jul-03, 03:01 PM
Hello, Gary!

I agree with Mark: This is a very good question. You have pointed out
two very important principles that have been learned about how nature
appears to work, which seem to be incompatible with the existence of
the Universe. :)

The main fact here is that we do not have a theory which explains how