PDA

View Full Version : Anybody got ideas on Ancient Astronomy?

Captain Chris
2009-Aug-07, 07:55 PM
Hi! I'm a rookie and this is my first post. I'm looking for some ideas. I'm running a series on-line surveys about Astronomy and Space Exploration. I have 8 categories including: Popular Culture, People, Theories, Discoveries, Engineering, Events, Sights and Ancient. I've got more than enough ideas for all categories expect for Ancient. This is all I have so far:

Antikythera mechanism
Mayan Calendar
Stonehenge
The Roman Calendar
The Number Zero

I probably need 6-7 more. Any ideas? Remember, these aren't "Theories" or "Discoveries" per se, since they have their own categories.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

P.S.: Forgive me if I did anything wrong.

a1call
2009-Aug-07, 08:03 PM
How about this mechanical computer (http://www.wimp.com/coolfind/)?

kleindoofy
2009-Aug-07, 08:07 PM
Babylonian Astronomy is very well documented.

The Babylonians collected and recorded precise data for over 1000 years, not only of the heavens (Sun, Moon, planets, stars), but also about day to day weather conditions. All on clay tablets in cuneiform.

The down-side is that all the publications that can be taken seriously are scholar's journals and are barely comprehensible for non-Assyriologists. In fact, the ancient texts are so specialized, that most Assyriologists don't even understand them. Besides that, you'll have to learn German and French to be able to read most of the modern literature.

But fear not, wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Babylonian_astronomy) can get you started.

Swift
2009-Aug-07, 08:15 PM
First, hi Captain Chris, welcome to BAUT. And no, you did great.

Some thoughts for other topics...

Chinese astronomy - didn't they record such things as supernovas

Various (Greek, Roman, Egyptian, etc.) mythologies about the origins of various constellations.