PDA

View Full Version : Liquid Metallic Hydrogen-What does it Look Like?

Mr. Milton Banana
2004-Jan-26, 11:32 PM
Jupiter and Saturn's "surfaces" are basically massive oceans of liquid hydrogen. My understanding is that liquid hydrogen is colorless.

In each planet, enormous pressures halfway in change the hydrogen to liquid metallic hydrogen.

What would that look like? Anyone want to take a guess? And what would be its properties?

8)

Edymnion
2004-Jan-27, 01:07 AM
We're not even entirely sure hydrogen CAN become a solid...
And technically, Hydrogen isn't a metal. It is classified as being non-metallic. Alkaline Metals applies only to Lithium and below. This is why Hydrogen is classically seperated from the rest of the Periodic Table, because it doesn't really fit with anything else we know.

Aka, it could be literally anything if/when it becomes a solid.

Coragyps
2004-Jan-27, 03:55 AM
I'm guessing, OK? Even though I'm a chemist by training and profession, I'm no expert on metallic hydrogen.....
But if you had optics that could see inside a pressure cell strong enough to confine metallic hydrogen, it would look like mercury (if liquid) or silver (if solid.) A part of the reason that metals like those look, ... well, metallic...is that they consist of a bunch of ions sitting in a sea of swarming electrons, which (somehow....remember, chemist, not physicist) bounce photons off in a shiny, metallic sort of way. As for properties, likely very similar to molten sodium or lithium: good thermal and electrical conductor, maybe very "runny" if liquid. Really, really flammable near oxygen. My $0.02, anyway.

Edymnion
2004-Jan-27, 04:14 AM
http://www-phys.llnl.gov/H_Div/GG/metalhydrofact.html
Apparently we HAVE succeeded in making solid hydrogen. Still hasn't been determined if its actually a metal or not.

http://www.webelements.com/webelements/elements/text/H/key.html
Lists Hydrogen as being Non-Metallic.

Mr. Milton Banana
2004-Jan-27, 05:04 AM