PDA

View Full Version : M87 supermassive black hole

SaganRules
2009-Dec-07, 08:50 AM
Hi all, bear with me I'm new to this. I just read an article about the M87 supermassive black hole in which it said that the supermassive black hole at the centre of M87 is ejecting material at 4 to 6 times the speed of light. How can anything go faster than light???:confused: I thought that light speed was the speed limit of the universe. It was an article in the Daily Galaxy.

hhEb09'1
2009-Dec-07, 10:58 AM
Welcome to BAUT, SaganRules. Here's the The Daily Galaxy article:

Mystery Jet from M87's Supermassive Black Hole Ejecting at 4 to 6 Times Speed of Light (http://www.dailygalaxy.com/my_weblog/2009/12/mystery-jet-from-m87s-supermassive-black-hole-ejecting-at-4-to-6-times-speed-of-light.html)

That measurement from Hubble was done in 1999.

ngc3314
2009-Dec-07, 01:24 PM