PDA

View Full Version : Wondering...

Vinny
2010-Jan-01, 10:54 PM
Howdy!!! Got a question, and since I am not into astronomy, and am merely a fella with a camera, then I s'pose I have no background (A "prolly should know better" kinda deal!) to be whupped up on here...prolly.

Anyway,

Was on the phone with my sis last night, and she mentioned The Blue Moon...I explained to her what it means, and I told her to go take a looksee, because the MoFo was full blowed FULL last night, and she would see that it really wasn't "blue" at all...

She said she was clouded in, and couldn't see nuthin'...So, I stepped out back (I am at 5500' Elevation), threw my camera up, found the moon in the viewfinder, and snapped a photo. Loaded it up in the 'puter, and by God, when I looked at the photo before sending it off to her, I saw a "blue orb", just 'neath the full moon.

I figgered it was just a smudge of some sort from my system, 'till I blowed it way up...Not sure what it is, and in all honesty, I hadn't noticed it in the viewfinder...but when I went back to my camera, and looked real close at the photo, it was easy enough to see, that it was THERE before loading in my system...

And bein' as how I didn't have nothin' better to do, I got to surfing around to see if someone else maybe had caught it in a photo, at any time, ever....but nope, couldn't find a thing.

I did get a crash course on "The Dog Star" (Sirius), which is known to be referred to as a "blue star", and also learned some on the The Blue Star Kachina (Hopi Indian Lore), which doesn't apply in this instance...yeah?

So, I will put the picture up here and maybe one of you kids knows sumpin' about Sirius, or at the very least, just where it was last night in relation to the full moon, twix't 8 and 9 pm, Pacific...