PDA

View Full Version : How works space expansion ?

galacsi
2010-Jan-02, 06:57 PM
Space expansion is central to the Big bang theory and I don' understand how it works.

I mean in the details. I don't have any problem with the general idea of an expanding universe and in this thread I don't want to discuss it's veracity.

So the universe is expanding , but what exactly is expanding ? At the beginning 13 billions years ago the universe was very dense and full or particules then after some cooling protogalaxies and galaxies appeared and seems to spread away from each over.

It is expansion in the macro level. Then we have the cosmological redshift, which suggests an expansion in the smallest level.

Then , is that space is expanding at all scales of distance ? Or is there a barrier or expansion stops. And if so why? I already asked this question but I have never received a relevant response.

korjik
2010-Jan-02, 07:25 PM
It is a bit tricky and I am no expert, but here is my take.

The expansion is in space itself. Take a non-interacting meterstick m1 at time t. Then take a second non-interacting meterstick m2 at time t+dt (some later time). Then compare the two metersticks. The second meterstick is longer.

Now there are a few qualifiers. First, these metersticks arent really physical. The interactions between particles making up a physical meterstick would keep the stick from expanding. Second, you are measuring two different meters at two different times. You cant just measure the same meterstick, cause it will always be one meter long, no matter when you measure. It is that the meter changes between the two times.