PDA

View Full Version : SOL question

J Riff
2010-Jan-27, 01:08 PM
I'm a newbie non-scientist here... but...The speed of light... how long, or how much power would be needed to get close to the SOL, assuming steady acceleration in vacuum ?
Would such a spacecraft have to be a probe, and could it be sent out and back, perhaps circling a nearby system like Alpha Centauri... How long before something like this is possible ?
Maybe half the SOL ?

antoniseb
2010-Jan-27, 02:13 PM
Hi J Riff, welcome to the BAUT forum.

The short answer to your question is "it depends".
- it depends on the mass you are planning to accelerate.
- power depends on how rapidly you want to accelerate.
- it depends on how close to the speed of light you want to go (half).

Perhaps if the question were "how much energy would it ideally take to get a 10 ton space craft up to half the speed of light?" we could give a concrete answer. Heck, I bet there are calculators on the web that will give your answer with just a few clicks.

Also, in the short answer is the fact that such a craft is impractical right now, and will be for the foreseeable future.

Hopefully someone with a link to such a calculator will post a followup here.

PhillipJFry
2010-Jan-27, 02:59 PM
Did a little searching on the interwebz and found this...

http://www.1728.com/reltivty.htm

http://www.ksc.nasa.gov/facts/faq04.html

http://www.stardestroyer.net/Empire/Science/Relativity.html

http://home.att.net/~srschmitt/script_starship.html

Hope it helps.

J Riff
2010-Jan-28, 11:52 PM
Dandy. Thats some serious numbers. I know most people have trouble with time dilation and relativity in general... an unmanned ship would seem to have fewer issues as the SOL is approached///so why not send one off towards a nearby star system ? Even at a decent percentage of the SOL it would be a beacon for our Alien pals out there.

antoniseb
2010-Jan-29, 12:10 AM
... so why not send one off towards a nearby star system ?...