PDA

View Full Version : The Mass of the Moon

Shawn
2010-Jan-27, 06:18 PM
HI. I'm new to astronomy, and I'm having a hard time figuring out how we can determine the mass of the moon. The figure cited is usually as being 7.36 × 10 to the 22nd power kilograms, but I have no idea how that number is arrived at. Explanation would be appreciated.

Shawn
2010-Jan-27, 06:24 PM
Hi. I'm new to astronomy, and I'm having a hard time figuring out how we can determine the mass of the moon. If someone could explain that to me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

PetersCreek
2010-Jan-27, 06:37 PM
Shawn,

Welcome to the BAUT forums. Please be patient when making new posts. Because you're a newcomer, your posts may be held in a queue for moderator approval, espcially is they contain links, images, or certain keywords. Don't worry, it's just a spambot countermeasure. Once you have a few more posts under your belt, your posts will appear immediately. If you have already done so, please take a little time to familiarize yourself with our rules, linked in my signature line below. You might also check out the other informational links.

Again, welcome to BAUT.

ETA: Duplicate posts merged.

AndreasJ
2010-Jan-27, 08:11 PM
It's ultimately derived from Newton's law of gravitation:

http://www.codecogs.com/eq.latex?F=-G\frac{m_1m_2}{r^2}

If we know the force F which the Moon attracts something, the mass m2 of that something, and the distance r between it and the Moon, the Moon's mass m1 falls out:

http://www.codecogs.com/eq.latex?m_1=-\frac{Fr^2}{Gm_2}

The "something" could be a space probe passing by the Moon, of known mass (we built it), and position and acceleration followed by radio. Acceleration gives the force via F = m2a (Newton's 2nd Law).