Thread: Sigh. Another Wikipedia question

Sigh. Another Wikipedia question

and this one's a doozy. I wouldn't be surprised if you guys couldn't help me; there probably isn't an answer to this, but I have to give it a go.

OK. As many of you know who came over from the BABB way back when, I am a Wikipedia editor. I tend to focus on scientific articles, particularly astronomical ones, not only because those are topics I am interested in (I am, after all, on this forum) but because they offer the least chance for the argument and vitriol that so plague Wikipedia's historical or political articles' talk pages. That said, beyond a few college 101 courses, I have no scientific training, so when things go above my head, as they often do, I rush over here for help. You guys have been invaluable to me over the years; so much so that I have been hesitant of late to take advantage of you again. However, needs must, and well, here I am.

Of those I wrote, Timeline of the far future is not my favourite Wikipedia article, nor is it by any stretch my most viewed (I co-Featured "Planet", "Solar System" and even "J. K. Rowling") but it is arguably my most exotic, and so is a topic for frequent Reddit discussion and plagiarism by the BBC. Actually, credit where it's due; I didn't exactly write the article, or all of it anyway; roughly half the information was imported from the merging of two previous articles, one of which had been facing deletion. This means that a lot of the information snuck in under my radar, and has been called into question by users, which they tend to do more often on this article because of the heightened attention it receives. All this means that, of all the issues I've come to you crying over, this article has been the source of the majority.