Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Jupiter Occults Mag +5.9 Star - 2021 APR 02

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,906

    Cool Jupiter Occults Mag +5.9 Star - 2021 APR 02

    During the predawn hours of 2021 APR 02, there may appear to be a fifth Galilean satellite around Jupiter. Actually, it will be the magnitude +5.9 star 44 Capricorni.

    Some observers in eastern North America may be able to witness the star during nighttime being occulted by Jupiter for over an hour. This would be a daytime occultation for Europe. Optical aid would be needed to witness this due to the brilliance of Jupiter overwhelming the star.

    I calculate that the star will be occulted from 08:48 to 10:00 UT (03:48 to 05:00 CDT 04:48 to 06:00 EDT).

    Photos and descriptions of the event would be welcome additions to this thread.

    Jupiter-44-Cap.JPG
    For astronomical graphics and data visit
    https://www.CurtRenz.com/astronomy.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,906
    Reminder: This rare event will occur early on Friday morning:
    For astronomical graphics and data visit
    https://www.CurtRenz.com/astronomy.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •