Thread: Can wills be filed jointly? Or must each partner have their own will?

Can wills be filed jointly? Or must each partner have their own will?

Just for example . . . . Can a husband and wife file a joint will? Or must each partner have their own will made up?

I don't think so, but I Am Not A Lawyer. So you should see one.
    Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.

You each need a will. One to bequeath to the other and/or other heirs, and then each to decide how their estate should be distributed if the other partner is already deceased (or excluded through divorce).

Iím not a lawyer either but this is what our lawyer told us.

Lots of good info on the internet, all of which ends with ďbut check with your lawyer first. ď

Thanks for the responses. I found this info:

A Joint Will is a Single Will that applies to two or more people, usually husband and wife. The Will normally states that when one person dies, all the property will go to the other spouse. When the remaining spouse dies, the property will then be distributed according to what both parties to the Will agreed.
    A joint Will is often long and complicated. ... Even if your separate Wills wind up looking and sounding similar, it is a good idea to create a Will for each spouse, addressing their individual desires. Why Estate Planning Attorneys Advise Against Joint Wills. First of all, spouses do not typically die at the same time.
    This link explains the problems inherent in a joint will: https://www.alllaw.com/articles/nolo...d-couples.html

So, it seems that the answer is "Yes, a joint will can be created" . . . but it isn't a good idea.

Sorry to bother you guys with this -- I should have looked on the net first. I thought I would ask the "brain trust" first.

I'll be leaving now. I used to post here a lot in the old days but now I only post here about once a year . . . so, see ya next year! Thanks again.